Musings from Lythos

The Year in Review

Inspired by my friend Kaubocks a few years ago, I've been keeping track of the media I...complete(?) each year and do a short review of them. I use the language of games here (one does not "complete" a movie) because that's mostly what I do these days, but if I watch a particularly good movie or read a good book, I'll put it on the list too. Why not? This is my blog now and I call the shots.

Originally, I did this via a couple tweets in a big thread that I'm sure is gone or otherwise difficult to find, but for the last two years, I've used my cohost account to do more general long-form blogging. These will be mostly reproduced here, although where I have the opportunity to expand, I will. Seeing as these are reviews, they will be mostly spoiler-free, and I will note at the top of the review if that is not the case. These lists are in chronological order, so Persona 4 was the first game I beat in 2023, and Astlibra Revision was the last one.

2024

Chants of Sennaar
Prince of Persia: The Lost Crown
Jubilee
Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order
Lies of P
Tsukihime: A piece of blue glass moon
Animal Well
No Case Should Remain Unsolved
Famicom Detective Club: Emio, the Smiling Man

2023

Persona 4 Golden
Ocarina of Time: Master Quest
Paranormasight: The Seven Mysteries of Honjo
Baten Kaitos Origins
The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap
Master Detective Archives: Rain Code
Oxenfree 2: Lost Signals
Trails into Reverie
Fire Emblem: Engage
The Legend of Nayuta: Boundless Trails
Eternights
Super Mario Wonder
Astlibra Revision

2022

A Quick and Dirty 2022 List